Blog Silence

It has been a few weeks since I’ve posted a blog. For many years I’ve posted a reflection every three days. More than that, I felt, would be too intrusive on your time, as well as too much work for me. As many of you probably know, in May of 2015, my wife and I traveled to Haiti with the idea looking for a way to serve unschooled streets kids in Port-au-Prince. My wife, who is an artist, was born in Haiti. We met in the aftermath of the earthquake in 2010, which left her homeless. I was in Haiti filming. It took a year to get her out of Haiti. While she loved her new life in California, her heart burned for the children locked in a prison of severe poverty, enduring hunger and abuse. We made seven trips to Haiti in 2015, living in a slum. Before we knew it, our little place was being overwhelmed with kids in dire need. In December of 2015 we moved into a walled compound containing a small building that serves a school. We also have a small two-room apartment where we live while in room. Our center is called the Santa Chiara Children’s Center. We care for about 50 kids a day, offering them three meals a day, a basic education, art & craft classes…and lots of love. Most of the kids live in the surrounding slums where they have no running water. We also have a dozen kids who actually live at the Center. I spend 50% of my time in Haiti, and my wife is in Haiti 80% of the time. We spend a lot of time flying back and forth. During these last three weeks that I’ve been home I’ve consumed with finishing a new film on our Center. Plus doing lots of begging to keep out Haitian outreach afloat. There simply are not enough hours in day…and so I’ve let the blog slide. I will be in Haiti until the end of June. When I return I hope to resume the blog…but for now the blog will be on a short hiatus. I send about 85 people daily journal updates while I’m in Haiti. I send them as a PDF file via e-mail. They contain stories of the kids, our struggles living there, and some photos. If you wish to be added to the distribution list please let me know by e-mailing at Straubgt@aol.com

SCCF film cover front only

1 Response to “Blog Silence”


  1. 1 krebsjoan June 12, 2016 at 8:59 am

    This is a good move by a contemplative activist – you.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


