Few Answers

Thomas Merton wrote: “A retreat is a time to do nothing for as long as you can.” Part of my problem, a large part at his moment, is that I have no time to do nothing. If I go out for a cup of coffee, I feel I must drink it in the car on the way to something else, that I just can’t afford to sit and relax and enjoy the double latte. I feel compelled to always push ahead to what is next.

Merton also wrote: “In humility is perfect freedom.” Merton always manages to say a lot with a few words. True humility, as Merton understood, is the best first step to true liberation. Because I care far too much what people think of me, I too often become chained to their ideas and expectations. Along with countless spiritual masters, Merton realized the need to let go of our ego and recognize our limitations. In doing so we are able to embrace our true self and bask in the joy of spiritual freedom.

I do not have all the answers. Heck, I have very few answers. At this moment, I have no clear idea how to keep Pax et Bonum Communications and the Santa Chiara Children’s Center afloat and effective. On my own power, both will collapse. I need God. I need more time alone with God, time to do nothing other than sit in the presence of God. I need a lot of help from many people who can bring far more to the dual aspects (film and service) of this humble ministry table than I can.

I need Lent.

1 Response to “Few Answers”


  1. 1 Anthony March 21, 2016 at 1:52 pm

    Thank you for this reflection! As someone who works for the Catholic Church, it is my daily struggle to be still and realize that my greatest accomplishment will be to fully recognize that God gives me my greatest accomplishments. Hoping to harness the spirit, energy and imaginations of the youth I work with into film and service in some way. I will be praying for you and that God’s work for you will come to completion!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


