Empty Pleasures

To be a saint is to be fully human. And fully aware that true happiness comes from God alone. Each day I must confront the countless desires that rise up within me. And each day I must admit that I am powerless to satisfy those desires. Moreover, I must focus on the fact that all desires are fulfilled only in God. The deepest and most essential longing we have, no matter how hidden or misunderstood, is a longing for God. That longing, that call to holiness, is woven into the fabric of our existence. Each day, I need to affirm my dependence on God alone.

Unhealthy desires are extinguished by humility. See your nothingness; forget your self and live for God and your neighbor. Oh God, help me stop my restless searching for empty pleasures, which even when satisfied leave me feeling unsatisfied, leave me with a void that can only be filled by You.

0 Responses to “Empty Pleasures”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


