Jesus and the Blind Man

In Mark’s Gospel, Jesus asks: “What do you want me to do for you?” (Mk. 10:51)

How would I answer the question Jesus asked the blind man?

Jesus, give me courage, deepen my faith, increase my ability to love…with these gifts, I would need nothing else, for this is what I need to be a true disciple of Yours.

The path to discipleship is very gradual. In the Gospel of Mark, the disciples always come across as stupid, as a bunch of knuckleheads. Whatever Jesus tells them, they just don’t get it. They are blind to his real message. They only understand a snippet of what Jesus is saying. This gives me hope. Understanding Jesus and his counter-cultural outlook is not easy to understand, let alone follow. In the Gospel passage where Jesus asks that poignant question, the blind man sees better than the disciples. The blind man threw away his cloak, which was, in all likelihood, all he had…and he left it behind. He knew Jesus could change his life. The blind man was not looking for a political messiah to change society. That was the hope of the disciples. In contrast, the blind man was looking for Jesus to change him.

Jesus was willing to lose his life to fulfill our deepest desire: the need to be one with God. Of course, we pass much of our life not even aware of this natural desire. It is buried in an avalanche of other concerns. In my work among the poor around the world I’ve grown to understand that suffering should not scare me; however, at the same time, the possibility of losing touch with Jesus really frightens me. Without Jesus, the continuing changes I must make would not be possible. Jesus, help me to see better.

1 Response to “Jesus and the Blind Man”


  1. 1 krebsjoan October 28, 2015 at 8:56 am

    “What do you want me to do for you?” Thanks, Gerry. This is a Jesus-question I’ve ignored. How good of you to put it out there for me to give a response. It’ll take a bit of time though’ there’s much in it to which I haven’t given a thought.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


