On My Way to Haiti

This evening Ecarlatte and I will be returning to Haiti to continue our work of establishing the Santa Chiara Children’s Center. We will return on October 18th.

While the Santa Chiara Children’s Center is many months away from becoming fully operational, it is already informally functioning out of our modest apartment. We are feeding and clothing kids in the slum where we live. Ecarlatte has also rescued a three-year-old homeless girl named Christella who is living in the apartment. When Hurricane Erika pounded Port-au-Prince with heavy rain and 50mph winds on August 29th Ecarlatte invited five homeless kids to spend the night in the apartment. She fed them a spread out a blanket on the floor for them to sleep. One little boy said, “I want to stay here forever.” The dream is already, by God’s boundless grace, coming to life…and it is very exciting. When we are not in Haiti, Ecarlatte’s 15-year-old niece, Orlane “Baby” Alexandre, and a young woman housekeeper named Elita (who is a former domestic slave), live in the apartment and continue to feed neighborhood kids on a daily breakfast. Your support is greatly appreciated. Ecarlatte and I will be spend one to two weeks a month in to Haiti until we obtain the building in April that will house the center.

I envision the Santa Chiara Children’s Center as a beehive of creativity, where kids can come to play, to learn crafts, to feel safe, and be able to laugh, sing, and paint…and perhaps even learn to read and write English. I envision volunteers from America coming to help, especially people with medical and teaching skills. I’m thrilled that a number of professional people have already indicated they are itching to join us in Haiti…including a doctor, a teacher, a musician, an icon painter, and a nurse.

If you wish to know more about Pax et Bonum Communication’s outreach to Haiti, please let me know and I will send you the full story of my dream and plans for the center.

3 Responses to “On My Way to Haiti”


  1. 1 ccira@marketingdimensionsinc.com October 8, 2015 at 8:29 am

    Hi Gerry,Send me your business address again and we will see what MDI can do it assist further. Would books be of interest to you?  We work with many of the top curriculum publishers and have books of every size and shape imaginable … even English as a Second Language series.  Also Highlights preschool and bilingual editions.  Let us know how we can help. Also, it might not be a bad idea to add your address to your blogs for rushed people like me that forget to write it down the first time.. 🙂 Also I would set up a Paypal account to add as well if you don’t already have one.  Safe travels and Godspeed during your trip.CherylCheryl D. CiraPresidentMarketing Dimensions, Inc.623 Park Meadow Road, Suite JWesterville, Ohio 43081614-890-1510  office614-581-0195  mobilewww.marketingdimensionsinc.comWe are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit. -Aristotle 

  2. 2 krebsjoan October 8, 2015 at 12:21 pm

    Somehow I thought you would leave 10/11. Wrong again. I hope Joaquin didn’t do too much damage…. The prayer candle will be lit from tonight to the 18th. My MMM friends have left or will leave for their overseas posts. Mary Ann MacRae whom you also know will leave in early November to take up her position in Leadership in Dublin. Marian Scena in late September returned to her hospital and new palliative care center in Singida, Tanzania. Although we didn’t see each other often, I’ll miss them. On October 11, Sr. Marie Hogan, CSJ leaves for Quezon City, (Manila) Phillipines and will work with CRS, CCharities, & another Filipino agency in sex trafficking social work ministry. I knew this was going to happen, but thought it would be early 2016. Marie has been the voice & face of anti-human-trafficking for our community for about 4 years. She will do a good job, but being by herself as CSJ, it’s my hope that friends, family, community do a great job of communicating. I hope the prayer candle won’t collapse from overuse…. In addition to the above there are several good friends in need of prayers for health reasons….

    Gerry when you get to the point of being capable of sharing your future work with others, please don’t skip the CSJ’s. I think that one or other of the vowed religious might answer a call. It’s entirely possible that some Associate CSJ might also. Good luck Gerry. Bon Voyage. Yours, Joan

  3. 3 Gabrielle October 8, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    Dear Mr. Straub, I am a nursing student with a long time dream to travel to places like Haiti to use my God given gifts to help others… It’s a burning fire I can’t ignore. I am working on my associates degree right now and want to obtain my bachelors, in order to enhance my skills and increase the impact I hope to make on the world. I know you are busy but if you would kindly direct me to a link where I can reference to for the future that would be fantastic! Thank you so much! God Bless & Godspeed!

    Sincerely, Gabby G.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


