A Few Twinkling Lights

In the winter of 2000 I was graced with the chance to spend a week of solitude in Thomas Merton’s hermitage in the woods on the grounds of Our Lady of Gethsemani Abbey in Kentucky. Here is an entry from the journal I kept during that week.

Sunday, December 3, 2000 at 5:45pm, Merton’s hermitage: I just made a cup of herbal tea. I turned around one of the big rocking chairs so it faced the front window. I turned out all the lights. I’m going to watch it get dark. On the distant mountain, about half way up, I can already see a few twinkling lights.

Reading this little snippet from the diary I kept during my week in Merton’s hermitage, I vividly recall the sweetness of my “hermit” experience, which offered me the possibility of pausing to drink in the arrival of the night. Each day is filled with natural wonders we don’t even see, which why seeing God in everything, even unpleasant things, is so foreign for us.

1 Response to “A Few Twinkling Lights”


  1. 1 krebsjoan September 16, 2015 at 9:46 am

    “… seeing God in everything, even in unpleasant things” is one of the big reasons I love to do Haikus. They are 17 syllable heart-spirit responses to ________ experience(s).


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


