A Solitary Journey

Spiritual truth cannot be taught…it must be experienced. Once it has been experienced, one quickly realizes how much there is to learn. Through prayer I slowly learned that every sincere step I take toward God, God takes ten steps toward me. A deeper experience of God only comes through prayer and emerges from the events of our lives. A Zen Master was asked, “What is the path?” He answered, without hesitation, “Everyday life is the path.” The mundane and commonplace events of our everyday life are where we discover God. Just yesterday I became so annoyed over something trivial a friend did, I felt as if I could explode our friendship. In a moment of utter frustration, I saw how stupid I was being by allowing something truly insignificant to possibly destroy a beautiful friendship as well as my inner peace…simply because my ego had been inadvertently bruised by this person. While all of our journeys to God have many similar traits, each of our journeys is unique. Spiritual enlightenment is a solitary journey. No one else’s journey will work for you. You must make your own journey…alone. All progress on the lonely road to God only comes through much failure and many wounds. Success has never taught me anything. Paradoxically, humiliation, betrayal, and hurt, along with my own sins and failures, have been portals to growth, an expansion of my soul. Sin is actually a path to God. Only sinners need God.

6 Responses to “A Solitary Journey”


  1. 1 aliceny September 4, 2015 at 7:34 am

    Thank you so much for this, Gerry. It answers so, so many questions and resolves so much in my life, especially on the twisted and convoluted portion of my Journey for the past three years. I have made so many mistakes in
    judgment, all of which have brought me nothing but pain. And — I thought it
    was the fault of others and not my own selfish, sinful desires for something
    that was not meant to be. Finally, when I was so overcome with pain and
    depression, I threw myself on God’s mercy and love and begged for His Help.
    He is not failing me.

  2. 2 James Sedwick September 4, 2015 at 8:24 am

    Good words, thank you. I need to be mindful of my path, and your mindfulness helps me and others.

  3. 3 theluzfund September 4, 2015 at 9:07 am

    I feel that once we understand this, the Wisdom we seek starts to creep into our everyday lives.

  4. 4 krebsjoan September 4, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    Not quite ready. Not quite in tune. My (paradox?) journey needs others as theirs need mine. Even my sin needs others. “Give us the grace to feel profoundly joined to all that is.” Laudato Si, 2nd prayer poem. I didn’t come into this world alone (in addition to my mother even then there were others).. I’ve never lived alone in this world. “My God; My God. Why have you abandoned me?” I can’t even understand this situation, much less understand that it’s possible …” To go to God alone…. for me impossible…

  5. 5 lwinkowski@comcast.net September 7, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    THANK YOU SO MUCH.  I HAVE LEARNED SO MUCH AND KNOW I HAVE MUCH MORE TO LEARN.   YOUR WRITING INSPIRES ME.   LAVERNE    

  6. 6 LaVerne Winkowski September 7, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    I have learned so much in a short time since I have been reading your reflections. Each writing has opened my spirit to new spiritual insight. I thank God for passing you on my road or should I say my journey.
    LaVerne -Franciscan Associate


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


