My Emotions

From The Sun & Moon Over Assisi

For most of my life, I have been ruled by my emotions. They are used to running wild, free to pull me in any and all directions. Did I say “my emotions?” Hardly, for they in fact owned me; I was their slave. Christ was fully aware of the importance of emotions in human life. Many of his miracles were in response to emotional needs, such as pleas from grief-stricken parents. When I began to focus my attention on God, it set off a chain reaction of events which eventually led to my gaining a degree of mastery over my unruly emotions.

In order to love God, I had to learn how to love my neighbor. But before I could even begin to love my neighbor, I had to learn to love myself. Before I could love myself, I had to get to know myself. Acquiring self-knowledge means learning about your emotional needs. I craved affirmation from others, and would do anything to elicit it. A disapprov¬ing word would send me into a tailspin. I feared not being held in high regard by others. Without some kind of outside approval, even if it was artificially induced, I was confronted with my own emptiness. I feared my own poverty. Now I am free to enter into my own intrinsic littleness, because I am confident of God’s love for me, a love which I did not have to earn nor could I ever merit, no matter how hard I tried. As I grew in awareness of God’s love for me, it was easier for me to unearth my own inner weakness.

What freedom! I no longer have to chase after the security that I found only in affirmations from others, because I know the loving hug of God’s compassion and mercy. Now I take responsibility for my emotions, which no longer are obstacles to my experiencing the fullness of God.

1 Response to “My Emotions”


  1. 1 aliceny August 3, 2015 at 12:04 pm

    “Standing naked before God” is an extremely difficult (and sometimes costly)
    position to attain…..but, oh, the rewards….

    Thank you Gerry for finally putting this truism in writing so that others may see and understand what the real prize is….


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


