An Invitation

Freedom comes from seeing ourselves the way God sees us. God sees my sin but does not want to crush me because of my sin. God sees my weaknesses and loves me anyway. God softly whispers an invitation for me to become holy without ever making me feel guilty. This is inner freedom. I can sin if I wish. I can also not sin if I wish. There is not pressure, no judgment from God. There is just love…and an invitation to become one with that love. Somehow religion traveled down the path of guilt and fear rather than the path of freedom and forgiveness. Jesus invites us to let him help us carry our load. When we walk with Jesus, we can stop pretending to be who we are not. Day by day, I’m slowly becoming more at peace with who I am, despite my stumbles. And day by day, I’m slowly growing stronger in my desire to be more holy. This I think must please God. God wants to help sinners become saints…because that would be good for us, and for all of humanity. Love is the only thing that can heal our wounded humanity, our wounded planet. But here’s the real deal: no matter how much good we do, we can’t make God love us any more, and, more important, no matter how much bad we do, we can’t make God love us any less. Of course, this is beyond our comprehension.

0 Responses to “An Invitation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


