Ordinary Moments

St. Francis of Assisi found God not in pomp and glory, but in infirmity and foolishness. He found God in what we throw away. Francis found the God of endless light hiding in the shadows, on the margin of society. The spiritual life does not lift us above the human condition – its misery, problems, confrontations, pain and difficulties. Spiritual life plunges us deeply into our humanity. It would be nice to sit in church all day, hands clasped in prayer, drinking the ecstasy of the Lord. But that is unrealistic; we must enter into the marketplace, walk the alleys of commerce. We must help each other out of the ditches into which we fall. In the streets of life we encounter God. Everything human is divine.

Even though it is a constant struggle, I must strive to live the present moment as it truly is: a gift from God. While I don’t often see it this way, every living thing should cause me to praise the Creator of all living things. The saints down through the ages repeatedly tell us that every event of our lives is open to God…prayer reveals how. While I believe the whole world, including every aspect of humanity, is sacred and a gateway to God, I don’t always put my belief into practice…if I did my days would be far less stressful. Every day I need to remind myself that wherever I am, whatever I’m doing, God is there. I must strive to feel God’s presence and warmth in the ordinary moments of the day. The commonplace is also a divine place.

As St. Francis reminds us, the sacred is not here or there but everywhere. The challenge is to become aware of it. God is rarely where I think God should be. God is on a crowded dilapidated bus in Port-au-Prince. God is in the noisy rattlings of a New York City subway train. God is in the quiet whispers of the trees. God is even in a dying daisy. Everything speaks of God. Thank God.

3 Responses to “Ordinary Moments”


  1. 1 aliceny April 30, 2015 at 7:40 am

    Thank you for these thoughts today, Gerry. I need to be reminded of this — frequently — so I have printed out your post and will read it every day. I think that it is so difficult always to see all persons with the eyes of Jesus, most especially those who are unseen, unloved, sometimes not very nice, and those demeaned by our society. The ability to do this, as we must, is a hard test as to whether or not we are followers of Jesus or just give Him lip service.

  2. 2 krebsjoan April 30, 2015 at 8:11 am

    As they say, “this one is a keeper.” What most deeply spoke to me was the need to acknowledge God’s presence every moment and everywhere. Thanks for that.

  3. 3 Sherada Marie Collins April 30, 2015 at 10:05 am

    I agree.This could not have come at a more perfect moment for me. Thank you again, Gerry.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


