Portals to Growth

Spiritual truth cannot be taught…it must be experienced. Once it has been experienced, one instantly realizes how much there is to learn. Through prayer I slowly learned that every sincere step I take toward God, God takes ten steps toward me. A deeper experience of God only comes through prayer and emerges from the events of our lives. A Zen Master was asked, “What is the path?” He answered, without hesitation, “Everyday life is the path.” The mundane and commonplace events of our everyday life are where we discover God. While all of our journeys to God have many similar traits, each of our journeys is unique. Nonetheless, all progress on the lonely road to God only comes through much failure and many wounds. Success has never taught me anything. Paradoxically, humiliation, betrayal, and hurt, along with my own sins and failures have been portals to growth, an expansion of my soul.

2 Responses to “Portals to Growth”


  1. 1 Peter April 24, 2015 at 7:45 am

    This Blog posting speaks deeply to me. I had big learning a few weeks ago that has helped me take about 5 step towards God. Growth comes hard in this world I’m reflecting on why it it’s so hard for me to grow. Thanks Gerry!

  2. 2 aliceny April 26, 2015 at 8:13 pm

    Gerry,

    Every statement that you have made here rings so true to me in my own spiritual and emotional life journey.

    Most surprising, I think, is acknowledging that ‘the mundane and commonplace events of our everyday life are where we discover God.’
    That simple yet profound observation is so revealing because I think that we overlook it. We tend to look at the big picture, the traumatic events in our lives when we only turn to God for solace.

    Most of all, I know from faith experience that ‘all progress on the lonely road to God only comes through much failure and many wounds.’ What irony. We tend to think that the reverse would be true. Our loving God does indeed work in mysterious ways as He shepherds us on our journey.

    In recent months I have personally experienced betrayal, humiliation and hurt from someone for whom I had deep feelings. In all honesty, Gerry, I think that it will take some time and much prayer and introspection for me to think of this painful time as a’ portal to growth.’ Your words here, however, have given me the courage and the desire to want to believe what you say. And I thank you for that, Gerry.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


