Feeding My Soul and My Rabbit

For a writer solitude is essential. Solitude helps me create a state of mindfulness. Or perhaps, better put, mindfulness is best cultivated in solitude. But time alone is also good for my own personal and spiritual growth. It is in solitude that I truly see and understand my deepest needs, feelings, and impulses. Spending occasional time alone is essential to achieving self-discovery and self-realization. I try to spend two hours a day by myself. This most often happens at four in the morning, when the house is dark, still, and silent. During this alone time, I’m often able to connect the dots of my life. It during these solitary hours I am best able to see patterns and tendencies in my life, and consider making any adjustments I deem necessary. Periods of aloneness help me re-focus and renew my spirit. It is a time of learning and invention. Beyond that larger chunk of time, I need to feed my soul bits of stillness during each day…taking a moment to breathe deeply and offer a simple prayer of thanks or praise.

The slower you drive through your day the more you will see…and feel. The present moment is often bursting with blessings, if we are attentive enough to see them. The most joyful thing I do each day is feeding my rabbit. When she sees me come out of the house, she comes running and hopping to me, stopping at my feet, looking down at the ground awaiting my hand to deposit a bit of apple or banana or, her favorite, a tangerine. As she eats, she allows me to pet her. A bit of bunny bliss is a true delight. It makes the interconnection of all life tangible. Even rabbits understand kindness.

2 Responses to “Feeding My Soul and My Rabbit”


  1. 1 Nancy April 18, 2015 at 1:18 pm

    Thank for the reminder to “drive slowly.”
    I too love early mornings when it is quiet. My favorite times are in the moments when the world starts waking up and the early morning activity is beginning. And it all begins anew the next morning😊

  2. 2 deborahahahn April 19, 2015 at 11:08 am

    Love the way you expressed all of this as I am in a similar process and feel the exact same. Speaking of rabbits, the Easter bunny came to me Easter morning….not with a basket but was outside my kitchen window. I was able to take pictures of this rabbit, now to be seen at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10206456438752273.1073741854.1308406550&type=1&l=e74f2f6d63.
    No way to put a picture here but wanted to share. God bless to all.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


