Cup of Coffee

Each day needs to be a pilgrimage
into my own heart.

“This day is yours, Lord,”
I say each day upon rising.
Yet, before I even finish
my first cup of coffee,
the day has become mine.

God never shouts to be heard over our noise.
Only silence gives God a chance to speak.

The soul that waits on God,
patiently and unhurriedly,
will eventually be filled
with the realization he or she
is infinitely loved.

2 Responses to “Cup of Coffee”


  1. 1 krebsjoan March 22, 2015 at 6:01 am

    ‘Have already had that first cup of coffee. Thanks for reminding me to “wait in patience.”

  2. 2 Tom R. March 22, 2015 at 6:13 am

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    From:”Gerry Straub’s Blog” Date:Sun, Mar 22, 2015 at 8:10 am Subject:[New post] Cup of Coffee

    Gerry Straub posted: “Each day needs to be a pilgrimage into my own heart. “This day is yours, Lord,” I say each day upon rising. Yet, before I even finish my first cup of coffee, the day has become mine. God never shouts to be heard over our noise. Only silence gives “


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


