Mud Pies & Kites

 

 

I spent much of Advent of 2010 and 2011 in Port-au-Prince, Haiti making my film Mud Pies & Kites. The film contains many Advent reflections. On July 17, 2012, I received the following e-mail from Lisa Juriga; Lisa and her husband and sons live in not far from Detroit, Michigan. Lisa serves on the Board of Pax et Bonum Communications.

Gerry,

The experience of watching “Mud Pies and Kites” is one of full immersion in unimaginable misery. It’s a journey to a place that I don’t want to know exists. It shakes up my comfortable life and challenges me to re-examine the “good Christian” life I lead. It reminds me that simply not choosing to be more informed about the devastating scope of poverty doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist and, more importantly, doesn’t excuse me from doing something about it. Looking into the eyes of the people you met, seeing the ravages of the life they are forced to lead, and then seeing their moments of joy, their hope and faith in Christ and their gritty resiliency, I am ashamed of the times I have complained about petty inconveniences. They are truly my brothers and sisters and I came to understand fully your message of compassion that calls us to companionship.

This film is more than just a documentary, it is a journey to the soul of each of us. Your beautiful reflections give me much to ponder and I know I will replay many scenes to better dwell on the profoundly spiritual coupling of images and prophetic wisdom. I am proud to have been able to contribute in a small way to this tremendously important piece of work. It inspires me and convicts me and I find that I am more eager than ever to live its message.

Lisa

You can order Mud Pies & Kites directly from the Pax et Bonum Communications website.

0 Responses to “Mud Pies & Kites”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


