An Undivided Heart

“Do not give your heart to that which does not satisfy your heart.” -St. Abba Poemem

When it comes to following Christ without reservation, I know exactly what to do. What I lack is the courage to do it. By recognizing my weakness I become strong. I need to stand before God in a stance of constant conversion. Humility is the heart of Christianity, and the gateway to prayer. The acknowledgment of our own weakness is the first step toward an acknowledgment of Christ’s strength. God reveals my sinfulness to me, not to make me feel guilty but to offer me forgiveness and freedom from the bondage of sin. God is humble. God lives in our poverty and weakness. God alone calms and satisfies all our desire. Passion is an expression of love or hunger. Only the pure of heart see God in everything. A pure heart is an undivided heart. I need to remind myself daily to walk humbly behind Christ. My anguish, my fear, my temptations can become a path to God if I acknowledge my littleness, my weakness and transform them into a trust that God alone can bring light into my darkness if I abandon myself completely and take refuge in God’s love.

2 Responses to “An Undivided Heart”


  1. 1 sheradac September 28, 2014 at 5:19 am

    This morning I was reflecting on how I feel I have been shot out of a cannon. This started during Lent. Now I feel like a cannon ball lying in a field surrounded by cow manure on all sides.Happy Sunday!!!! Sherada

  2. 2 Sherada Marie Collins September 28, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I am doing the Do-it-yourself retreat called Consoling the Heart of Jesus by Michael Gaitley. He cautions us to walk with Jesus..not behind Him and not in front of Him. Hold his hand.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


