Be Still

A by-product of our fast-paced modern life is that most of us are so fully engaged in an endless stream of activities and endeavors that we have lost the aptitude for deep listening and as a result have alienated ourselves from the very source of our being. We have forgotten the clear biblical instruction: Be still and know I am God.

In my active life, I need to learn how to periodically, perhaps even on a daily basis, silence my intellect and senses. In doing so, I am not briefly fleeing the world but attempting to experience the essential reality of a full life in God. The “life in abundance” which Jesus promises is blocked by our whirlwind of activity which only leaves us feeling tired and impoverished.

2 Responses to “Be Still”


  1. 1 James August 7, 2014 at 6:28 am

    I find the benefit of peace when I sit silently, sometimes simply watching my breath. I notice something, too, as I did sitting this a.m.: I’m engaged in a photography project, and my mind moves around thoughts and feelings about it. This is difficult to silence, so much so that I’ve thought, when I make an end to this work, I can rest. If, however, I let these thoughts and feelings, which really are about work, open and flow, and see them in gratitude as a flowering of the cosmos, the biblical instruction remains: Be still and know I am God.

  2. 2 aliceny August 7, 2014 at 11:31 am

    Thank you for this. It speaks to the questions I raised in a recent comment.
    It makes sense to me; It is doable…one baby step at a time.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


