Messy Moments

Darkness, at times, surrounds all of us. It’s impossible to calculate the amount of mental and physical suffering that is endured each day. So often, everything seems hopeless. Despair often shadows our days. We cling to a hope that things will change, that we’ll catch a break.

To look deeply into the darkness of your own imperfect life is the surest way to be transformed by the hopeful light that springs forth from the mercy of God.

God is not hiding in the corner of an empty church. God is hidden in the endless stream of busy, messy, mundane moments of everyday life. Moreover, God is also hidden in the many tragedies that dot the vast landscape of humanity. God is not beyond the clouds; God is on the ground, down in the gutter with us.

At the heart of every life there is a deep, mysterious pain. No one can avoid it or cure it. My faith tells me that God loves me in my brokenness. And that God loves me fully and unconditionally, without a hint of reservation, even in my darkest, most sinful, most unloving moments. God does not demand perfection; God gives love. The essence of faith is trust…trusting in God’s undivided, unmerited love.

4 Responses to “Messy Moments”


  1. 1 aliceny August 1, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    Thank you for these beautiful, consoling thoughts.

    Once I realized intuitively and by the gift of faith (and through emotional pain) that God does not actually reside in church buildings – especially in grand cathedrals, as we were led to believe as grammar school children – He became approachable to me through His Incarnation as Jesus. Eventually, I was (and am) able to see Him in other people, especially those who are suffering.

  2. 2 Joan Krebs August 1, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    Serendipity strikes yet again!

    Background: I live on the 3rd floor. One unusual night there was enough light and wind so that when I looked out the window, I saw a tree’s shadow-dance on the highway. Pure delight! Since then I’ve repeatedly played the Susan Boyle CD with “Night Music” from PHANTOM OF THE OPERA. Other ways to look at night. In addition a quote hit me
    hard about how much darkness and night filled with mystery teach. Another pointed to the fact that “the moon & stars will flood the night with their glitter.” This was about how each day, including its night, brings change…. Now you remind me that night connotes sorrow and suffering also. Somehow all these night-facets converge into God’s presence and life. Thanks Gerry for adding to the reality.

  3. 3 sheradac August 2, 2014 at 5:10 am

    WOW! Great post.   Sherada

  4. 4 ekabna August 2, 2014 at 8:44 am

    Thank you so much for this. My day so far has been one of those that makes me want to crawl under the bed. This post helped me tremendously,


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


