The Voice of the Shepherd

John’s unique gospel says the voice of the shepherd calls us, and that the followers of the shepherd know the voice of the shepherd. The mystical voice of the shepherd calls us home, home to the experience of shelter and peace. We often lose touch with this voice because of the many distractions of life.

At times we are driven to ask big, life-altering questions, such as what is the meaning of my life or did I make a huge mistake in a promise I made but feel as if I can no longer keep, or do I have some deep unhealed wound. These big, unanswered questions often follow some tragedy or nagging difficulty in our lives. But the voice calls us from this place of inner conflict and tells us to come home to a place of harmony.

For too long I listened to the voice of the world, for too long I lived by false assumptions about life, for too long I was too busy to listen to the inner, mystical voice of the shepherd calling me home. I knew the words of the 23rd Psalm—the Lord is my shepherd—but I did not know the voice of the shepherd. I was lost.

Even after my conversion, I became so busy with my ministry, the voice of the shepherd became muted. A few years ago, I realized I needed to find a place of silence in order to hear more clearly the voice of the shepherd. Slowly I began to hear, albeit faintly, an inner voice in my own life calling me home to a deeper mystical experience. But as I resumed filming and speaking, I found myself once again becoming too busy to hear the voice of the shepherd. I need to listen more intently for the voice of the shepherd. I need to be more diligent in creating space of silence.

1 Response to “The Voice of the Shepherd”


  1. 1 Jerry July 14, 2014 at 10:10 am

    I also live where you live. To me the ultimate goal is to hear that Voice in the midst of all activities of life. But getting there is a process which takes time and requires making space as you’ve written.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


