A Prison

How sad that we often decide to abstain from life, to hide ourselves because we have been hurt or rejected. Our inner cell of self-protection soon becomes a prison that robs us of the vitality of life. Our very woundedness is waiting to be transformed into compassion. Our emotional and physical pain helps us understand and respond to the suffering of another. Compassion is as elegant as any cathedral.

2 Responses to “A Prison”


  1. 1 aliceny July 3, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    Short but sweet, Gerry.
    Woundedness has given me new eyes to see hurt and suffering in others as well as a deep sense of compassion for those who are wounded and, for the most part, suffer silently. But one can always see it in their eyes. As soon as you connect with those eyes, you are ‘hooked.’ You cannot deny it, you cannot ignore or run from it. You must act in whatever way will bring understanding and help to that person.

    I view this as a gift, but that realization has taken me a long time to recognize and to act on. My hurt never really goes away. It just moves around and settles in among the rest of my life’s experiences. In the meantime, I now see what the Lord has intended that I see. As long as my soul tells me that He is there with me, I’m okay. His presence is all that I need.

    Thank you for the reminder.

  2. 2 Jerry July 4, 2014 at 10:26 am

    I loved the ending line “Compassion is as elegant as any cathedral.” It’s helpful to be reminded that we can build an inner cathedral during our lifetime.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


