Intimate Communion

Waiting, waiting, waiting. Our spiritual lives are a vigil of waiting. We wait with hope for the advent of God. Yet as we wait for God, God is already here with us. And we are with God, yet not fully so, and so we wait, living with paradox and expectancy. Spiritual transformation never ends…it is always new, forever beginning, constantly evolving.

Each of us is on a life-long journey to wholeness. We all want to overcome the fractures and divisions we feel within ourselves and among our circle of family and friends. Our lives are like puzzle parts and we can’t see the full picture. Wholeness and completeness are ultimately only found in intimacy with God. And intimacy with God is only found through desire and surrender. When we desire God above all else and when we let go of our clinging egos and destructive religions, God is free to enter into intimate communion with us.

“If we remain in our ego, clenched upon ourselves, trying to draw down to ourselves gifts which we then incorporate in our own limited selfish life, then prayer does remain servile. Servility has its roots in self-serving. Servility, in a strange way, really consists in trying to make God serve our needs. We have to say to modern man something about the fact that authentic prayer enables us to emerge from our servility into the freedom of God, because it no longer strives to manipulate him by superstitious ‘deals.’”
-Thomas Merton
Contemplation in a World of Action

3 Responses to “Intimate Communion”


  1. 1 sheradac December 3, 2013 at 6:33 am

    I was waiting this summer. When I finally realized I was waiting and waiting is doing something…it isn’t just sitting…it isn’t really an action but I believe it is a spiritual practice that involves contemplation, patience and practice. While waiting I wrote to some of my local Christian girlfriends that I was losing energy due to lack of food. I gave them a list of what I eat and asked if they could purchase the food for me. I contacted 12 friends at OLGC. Three responded. Of those 3 only one person actually brought over the food I requested. That was a huge lesson for me. 1. Do we hear? 2.  Do we listen for the request? 3. How do we respond once we hear the request? Way back before I was Catholic I had a spiritual director named Tom Jacobs in KCMO. I told him about my life in the Church of Christ and how I felt drawn to the Catholic Church but had absolutely no support from anyone. Tom was a sought after and “expensive” director but took me on for free. He told me “no one hears you.” He was right. How can we respond when we don’t even hear? Then when we hear…why do we insist upon giving someone something other than what they are asking for? Fr. John made a very simple request of me which I did not totally follow out. The very next time I saw him I said “Father forgive me for I have sinned.” He said “What did you do?” I told him I had not carried out his request exactly as he had asked. He said “fine..now go fix it.” I did. I started to cry. What a lesson. He made a simple direct request and I managed to find a way to change it to suit me!! After waiting the summer I applied for my current job…I had no idea if I could do it. During the interview I said “I don’t think I can do this.” I was asked if I was willing to try it part-time. I said “yes.” I said I would rather fail part-time than full-time. I have been working 4 days a week in East Detroit at an In-patient psychiatric facility that serves the poor and homeless. I have been doing this four months. I waited. God pointed me in the direction I was to go. The Bible..especially Old Testament is full of stories about how, why and where we go on the journey and how we wait. Sometimes we have to just put our foot in the water and go…other times we wait. Waiting is a spiritual practice. Not one I enjoy!!!!LOL Sherada

    ________________________________

  2. 2 aliceny December 3, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Thank you, Gerry, for this thoughtful posting. Oh….the slavery of destructive misplaced ego and pride….our greatest enemies and impediments to the intimacy that we so desire with our God….

  3. 3 revangelacampbell December 11, 2013 at 11:20 am

    Thank you, Gerry……your words were words I needed to hear/read.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


