Hurt and Angry

A friend hurt me. I am finding it difficult to pray for him. But I must persevere, for in praying for him I will free myself from the bondage of anger which will only destroy me. Hatred is death to the soul. Our culture’s preference for self-affirmation has transformed forgiveness into a sign of weakness.

6 Responses to “Hurt and Angry”


  1. 1 Amy Sandvold (@PrincipalAmy) November 29, 2013 at 4:58 am

    Stay strong. I struggle this as well. It is hard to forgive. Forgiveness sets us free again.

  2. 2 Amy Sandvold (@PrincipalAmy) November 29, 2013 at 4:59 am

    I meant “with” this…now I need to forgive my iPad touch screen.

  3. 3 aliceny November 29, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Thank you for these words of wisdom, Gerry. You are absolutely correct about anger being a bondage. I, too, was deeply hurt and betrayed (by a hypocritical ordained minister no less). I thought that I had forgiven him but the hurt and deep anger still linger. I have prayed for him that he will be given the grace to admit to himself that what he has done was wrong and regrets his actions. Sometimes, the hurt creeps back into my mind; it is still hard to let go of it. I have even had the thought to retaliate and hurt him in the same way, but I know that is not the answer that God wants for me nor will it result in my healing. Nor do I want to sink to this man’s level by sacrificing my integrity. I recognize that retaliation would be my ego expressing itself. Instead, I seek God’s presence by praying the Psalms and by waiting in silence and meditation for His peace to replace the hurt and the anger.

  4. 4 Kaye Wilkins November 29, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Gerry:
    I really appreciate the work you do for the poor and the daily comments. Please keep up your good work.
    May God continue to bless you in all you do.
    Sincerely,
    Your friend from the Haitian earthquake
    Kaye Wilkins M.D.

  5. 5 Stuart Robertson November 29, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Gerry,

    Please know I would never and have no desire to ever intentionally hurt you.  You have been incredibly kind, gracious and generous with me.  I am eternally grateful and have deep respect for you.

    Stuart

    ________________________________

  6. 6 Lee November 29, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    It’s tough to forgive. I struggle with that too. Hang in there, keep praying for strength. I will pray for you.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


