A Future Full of Hope

God is beyond the world
yet God can be found
in and through the world,
especially the world of
the marginalized and the weak.

The prophet Jeremiah proclaimed:
“I know well the plans I have in mind for you,
says the Lord,
plans for your welfare, not for woe!
Plans to give you a future full of hope.
When you call me,
when you go to pray to me,
I will listen to you.
When you look for me,
you will find me.
Yes, when you seek me with all your heart,
you will find me,
says the Lord,
and I will change your lot.”
[Jeremiah 19:11-14]

On the surface
you don’t see much hope
in the slums of Uganda, Kenya and Haiti
where I have recently filmed.
Beyond these countries,
almost half of humanity
face poverty, hunger and disease
on a daily basis.
Many of them also face
terrorism and war
that results in their displacement.
Others are caught up in the nightmare
of human trafficking,
sold into slavery.

Where is God
in this picture,
where is the hope
God promises?

Reflecting on Psalm 23
Leonardo Boff writes:
“There is indeed a dark valley,
a valley of death;
there are enemies and persecutions.
It is within this darkness
that God comes to us as a
shepherd and host,
and assures us:
I am with you.”

Those who trust in God
despite their sorrows and tragedies
know this hope,
know God will bring them through
the darkness.

When we know this Resurrection hope
we want to share it
and bring the light of hope
to those living in the darkness
of chronic poverty.

God calls us to be love
for one another.
When we reach out in love
to someone,
we give them
the gift of hope,
the gift of life.

In doing so, we discover that
at the feet of the poor,
we find the heart of God.

I wish everyone
a joyful celebrationof the Resurrection.

1 Response to “A Future Full of Hope”


  1. 1 aliceny March 31, 2013 at 8:25 am

    Thank you, Mr. Straub. And thank you for reminding me where “we find the heart of God.”

    May you continue to find peace in your love of God and in the ministry to which He has led you.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


