Into the heart of Darkness

I cannot learn about God. I can only unlearn the things that are keeping me from a full awareness of God. To find Christ you must make a pilgrimage to the center of your being, to the place where the human and the divine meet. The key to being a pilgrim is to remain still interiorly as you journey…otherwise you are just a wanderer. To pray is to embark on a journey without end – a journey deep into the heart of darkness, of paradox, of mystery. The journey to God is slow. Each day, we inch our way along a steep, winding road. The pace of spiritual transformation moves about as quickly as traffic in Los Angeles.

3 Responses to “Into the heart of Darkness”


  1. 1 GOvideoHAWAII May 13, 2012 at 5:44 am

    I especially appreciated from your post “…to the center of your being, to the place where the human and the divine meet…” !!
    danny

  2. 2 Joan Krebs May 13, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Gerry, at almost 82 years of age, journeying toward God is no longer a big concern with me. My concern is to act what I believe, that each day is mine to walk in the presence of God; that each day is mine to see her/him in everyone, everything around me – in myself. To embrace paradox, the darkness – and yes, perhaps rejoice a bit that the “pace of transformation is as slow as traffic in Los Angeles.” This paraox is kinda like something St. Paul said: “Of course I long to be with Christ because that’d be sheer delight; but at the same time I wish to be here serving, ministering, accompanying, being the hands/voice of Christ in my neighbor whoever/whatever that might be.”

  3. 3 Mary Dib May 13, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    That was very comforting and after it taking me a whole hour to go from one side of the GW briidge to the other last evening, I had my own measure of speed to compare my spiritual transformation to. It was easy sailing to get to and from DC for my brother’s funeral but hitting traffic like that when almost home is almost as bad as going backwards and my life’s journey sometimes feels like that or rather I can see that it actually is slipping.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


