Haiti, Kenya, Illinois & Iowa

I have been a bit busy of late (between a trip to Eastern Africa and Lenten speaking engagements), which has unfortunately diminished the number of blogs I’ve posted over the last few weeks. My plan for this humble blog was just to post two or three reflections a week, in order not to overwhelm people with material, but lately even that small number of postings has been hard to maintain. But my busyness, thank God, has been good busyness. This week the two composers delivered their scores for Part One and Part Two of the Haiti film, My Pies & Kites. I began production on this film in December of 2009, just weeks before the earthquake. Over the next 15 months, I made a total of nine trips to Haiti, fully submerging myself in their suffering and agony. I even spent time living in a slum, living without running water or electricity. I am greatly relieved that this epic film, which I think is the best film I’ve ever made, is nearing completion. All that is left is the sound mix and the authoring and manufacturing of the DVD’s. Hopefully the film will be available in mid-April.
Tomorrow (3/10), I will fly to Chicago where I will give my “poverty and prayer” presentation at “The Well,” a retreat center run by the Sisters of St. Joseph. On Monday, I fly to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where I will be met by my good friend Fr. Jim Brokman. I will give two evening presentations at his parish, Holy Name in West Union, and a morning presentation at Xavier High School. I will return to Los Angeles on Thursday, March 15th…just in time for a Pax et Bonum Communications board of trustees meeting on Saturday. After that, there are events at Assumption Church in Rochester, NY and at Illinois State University in Bloomington, Illinois.
In between all these events, I will begin digitizing all the footage I shot in Kenya in January. The script for the film is coming along nicely. I am really excited about this new film featuring the work of Jesuit Refugee Service. I still need to raise money to move forward with this film, but I trust God will provide what we need as we need it.
So, over the course of the next month, I will try to post as many reflections as I can. Please keep me and my ministry in your prayer, as we strive to serve the poor through the power of film.

0 Responses to “Haiti, Kenya, Illinois & Iowa”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


