Special Offer

Pax et Bonum Communications
“Serving the Poor through the Power of Film”

An Appeal and Special Offer from Gerry Straub, Founder

When Did I See You Hungry? is a photographic and textural mediation about poverty and our responsibility to help those living on the margins of society. In order to write it, I traveled to the worse slums in eleven nations, including India, Kenya and Brazil, and documented unimaginable suffering. Even though I had already written a 600-page book on St. Francis of Assisi, I still didn’t really understand the saint’s love not only for the poor but also for poverty itself. With the support of the Minister General of the Franciscans, I spent a great deal of time with truly holy men around the world who lived the self-emptying love of Christ, and who showed me how to see the face of Christ in the faces of the poor. The photographs do much more than show the agony of life in the slums; they capture the hidden humanity of the poor and their spirit of joy. The book led me to full time ministry to the poor. I’ve spent the last 18 months working on an epic film set in Haiti. I was in Haiti just days after the earthquake and returned eight more times to document the full scope of the disaster. We are very close to finishing the film. In January, I will begin work on a new film on the sorrowful plight of the urban refugees in Kenya. I need an infusion of $25,000 to complete the Haiti film and begin the film in Kenya. It is my hope that by offering the remaining 500 copies of When Did I See You Hungry? for a $50 donation, I can reach that goal. To receive one of the few copies left of the book that is literally the foundation of all my films and to help me serve the poor through the power of film, please mail your $50 donation today to Pax et Bonum Communications.

The mission of Pax et Bonum Communications is to produce compelling media that foster compassion for the homeless, hungry and downtrodden while inspiring a genuine and respectful fraternity among all peoples. We believe the best way to love God is through acts of love, mercy, compassion and kindness.

Pax et Bonum Communications • 827 N. Hollywood Way #555 • Burbank, CA 91505

0 Responses to “Special Offer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


