Blessed Are the Poor

Blessed Are the Poor

Jesus was poor because he chose to be poor.
He divested himself of the richness of his divinity
in order to be in solidarity with the poverty of our humanity.

Jesus said, “Blessed are the poor.”
We say, “Hide the poor,”
because they make us uncomfortable.

The way we treat the poor and the weak
reflects our essential and guiding view of life;
but, more important, it is the way Christ evaluates our lives.

Whenever I use the possessive words “my” and “mine,”
I am separating myself from others and from God.
All that I am belongs to God.

As long as my attention
is turned away from God and toward myself,
true human development ceases.

The meek are the only ones strong enough
to break down the walls of fear
that separates people.
Fear is at the core of all human conflict.

1 Response to “Blessed Are the Poor”


  1. 1 Lee May 19, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Have you ever read Peter Maurin’s Easy Essays?

    When I read your reflctions I am sometimes reminded of them – though he is more political in what he says.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


