Heaven on Earth

Heaven is a hard word to pin down. What it is or where it is…is a mystery. Perhaps the simplest way to define it is: heaven is the reality of God. Heaven touches earth whenever we catch a glimpse of God, whenever we encounter God in a truly real way. Heaven can be found in a tender touch, in a glass of water, a morsel of food given to a hungry person. Heaven is seen in an act of kindness, an act of compassion. Heaven is the reality of Love, self-emptying, self-sacrificing love. We should not strive to get to heaven; we should strive to be heaven. The 20th century Carmelite nun Blessed Elizabeth of the Trinity said it best: “I have found my Heaven on earth, because Heaven is God and God is in my heart.”

Heaven is within all of us, and all of us can be in heaven if we enter our hearts, encounter and experience God and then become God’s ambassadors of love and peace.

5 Responses to “Heaven on Earth”


  1. 1 sherada collins February 10, 2013 at 5:23 am

    Oh, yes. Yesterday I toured Covenant House in Detroit and went with a group to see the places they find the homeless children. I met some of the children who now live at CH. Heaven.

  2. 2 Rev. Paul McKay February 10, 2013 at 5:27 am

    Well put; still a lot of that old toxic theology about Heaven/Hell out there. I saw a giant Christian bus in Belize yesterday with warnings about Hell plastered all over it, like “Turn or Burn.” As if the God of Heaven and love who loves us in spite of our sins will barbecue us forever and ever and ever and ever if we don’t get right with God. People living in that fear of judgement are being denied the true Heaven and those who spread that theology of Judgement and Hell are still out there around the world. God bless them–they mean well, but the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Always looking forward to your stuff, Gerry. Keep up the great work and blessings on you.

  3. 3 aliceny February 10, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    Thank you, Mr. Straub.

    Your thoughts about the reality of “Heaven” are a far cry from what I was taught in my Catholic grammar and high school education. (I went to SUNY Albany for most of my college education, so I never encountered any of that fearsome theology.) And then there was Vatican II and, for most of us, the interpretation of some previous operant theology was turned on its head!

    At one particularly troubling time in my life (when I was in my 30s) I visited a close family friend and my counselor, a recently-deceased Jesuit priest in Mass. During one of our discussions, I asked him what he believed was the definition of Heaven and Hell. His answer, simple yet profound, has stayed with me.
    He said, “Alia, Heaven is where God lives; where we will be in His loving presence for eternity. Hell is a place completely devoid of God’s presence where we will live for eternity. The choice of where we want to be is ours.”

    It never mattered a whit to me if Fr. Jim’s definitions were theologically acceptable at that point in time. It still does not matter. He answered my question and gave me hope.

  4. 4 thesouldoctor February 21, 2013 at 3:11 am

    You know my friend, I think we should talk about heaven more. It has always been synonymous wih hope in Christ. Thnaks that was heartwarming. My Mom is in hospice right now, so even in her state of dementia she loves to hear the scripture and about going home to be with the Lord.


  1. 1 Heaven Kisses Earth | New Heaven on Earth! Trackback on February 20, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

