Radical Transformation

“The eyes with which we look back at God are the very same eyes with which God first looked at us.” –Meister Eckhart

In his book Radical Grace, Richard Rohr, OFM, writes: “We really need to be saved from the tyranny of our own judgments, opinions and feelings about everything, the ‘undisciplined squads of emotions’ that T. S. Eliot criticizes in his poetry.” My word, I certainly am keenly aware of my wild and unpredictable emotions. So much of our trouble comes from thinking we are the focal point of reality, that the world revolves around us, and that we can pass judgment on everything that touches us. Because of this egocentric thinking, everything in the world becomes an object that exists for our personal benefit. We even turn God into an object, another tool in our arsenal of weapons of destruction and survival. But I am not just another individual object in a world of objects. I am, as the mystics of all faiths came to see, a “no-thing.” Not “nothing” but “no-thing.” That means, I am more than my body, and reality is more than my consciousness. When I become aware of my true reality, that is my “no-thingness,” I suddenly have room for “some-thing” else…namely God. This kind of transformation of reality changes everything. We see goodness and unity. We see as God sees. We are no longer chained to our unruly emotions, no longer prisoners of our exalted feelings, opinions and judgments. We have room for the other. The great 12th century Sufi philosopher and mystic Ibn ‘Arabi said, “The hero is he who smashes idols, and the idol of every man is his ego.”

3 Responses to “Radical Transformation”


  1. 1 sherada collins February 6, 2013 at 5:15 am

    I needed to “hear” this today. Thank you, Gerry.

  2. 2 aliceny February 6, 2013 at 8:31 am

    A lot to meditate upon and pray about here, Mr. Straub — enough for the entire Lenten season. Thank you.
    May our precious Lord continue to inspire you and feed our souls.

  3. 3 Lewis Williams February 6, 2013 at 8:57 am

    You nailed it here Gerry. One of the many nuggets of truth rumbling around in my soul after the Haiti visit. Pulle out your Hidden in the Rubble book again and did it come alive. Overlapping it with a Mother Teresa book I found iway home. My heads spinning in the midst of transformation. Lewis


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

