Made by Love

We do not know peace,
because we do not know love.
We do not know love,
because we do not know God.

God is love.
We were made by love
and for love.
But we have turned our backs on love,
and have become unloving.

The world has been disfigured
by our failure to love.
The world will only be transformed
when all people learn how
to love each other.

Our human love is limited,
unable to reach beyond our selves,
our family, our friends.
Our love is feeble,
unable to withstand the storms of life.
Our love is egocentric,
unable to put others first.

Love requires humility,
mercy, kindness, trust, patience,
perseverance and sacrifice.
Sadly, these noble traits are
underappreciated and in short supply
in our troubled world.

Only divine love
allows us to embrace all,
even our enemies.
Peace can only flow
from self-emptying love.

Peace creates unity
and works for the common good.
Faith in God should unite us,
lead us to a peace
rooted in mercy and compassion.
But our flawed faith
divides us,
pits one faith against another,
says my religion is
better than yours,
my religion in the only true religion.
And so we pray,
and kill…
and ignore the poor, the weak and the suffering.
And cause God to weep.

God is neither Christian,
nor Jewish,
nor Muslim,
nor Buddhist,
nor Hindu.
God is love.
Different religions are
different ways at trying to
understand God.
God is beyond all faiths,
beyond all understanding.

My love for my Christian faith
is enhanced by
my embracing
all religious faith.
Every faith needs
to root out hate
and cultivate
love.

Where there is hatred,
there is the absence of God.
Where there is love,
there is God.

3 Responses to “Made by Love”


  1. 1 aliceny January 30, 2013 at 8:32 am

    I cannot comment on this in depth now, except to say that what you have written IS the answer – the ONLY answer. The truth in your message is overwhelming. I have made a copy to carry with me so that I may continue to read it. It will take me a long, long, time to internalize the full import of this posting and make it a part of my finite human understanding of God’s love — for me — and for all that He has created.
    In the meantime, I have shared this with everyone on my e-mail list.
    Thank you, Mr. Straub.

  2. 2 Fanny February 8, 2013 at 1:04 am

    I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  3. 3 Singlesnet.com February 8, 2013 at 8:51 am

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll
    settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share
    this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

