A Life of Holiness

God calls us to a life of holiness.
Does holiness ever take a holiday?
It does in my case.
I still yield to temptations.
There are temptations
that still seem
beyond my ability to resist.
There are little pockets of resistance
to holiness in my life
which I have been unable to surrender.
I am weak.

I keep my unholy behavior hidden.
But God sees, God knows…
and God still loves.
But in holding onto these
unholy behaviors
I am keeping myself
from the one thing I really want
the most: God.

How ironic: I have devoted my life
to fighting the cruel impact
of poverty,
and yet I do almost nothing
to combat my own inner poverty.

Because God is holy,
I want to be holy.
And God’s holiness
never takes a holiday.
God is always working
on behalf of my salvation.
And my salvation lies
in forgetting myself
and yielding to God.

Even when I resist God’s grace
to overcome temptation,
God’s does not look at my rejection,
but at my heart
which truly wants to beat with love.

All that I can give God,
who has everything,
is my nothingness,
my emptiness,
my inability to overcome
my own inner poverty.

2 Responses to “A Life of Holiness”


  1. 1 aliceny January 26, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    You are not alone. Our numbers are legion. Yet we keep on struggling for the prize that we know will be ours.
    Pax et Bonum.

  2. 2 greatart3923 January 27, 2013 at 10:02 am

    All that I can give God,
    who has everything,
    is my nothingness . . .

    Thank you for sharing this reflection. Each day is a challenge to embrace the struggle – some days more graciously than others.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Gerry's blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Postings


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

